Activities

Chapter Meetings, Workshops, and Events

September & December Meetings – Social time begins at 1:00 pm; the business meeting begins promptly at 1:30 pm. The program follows the business meeting.

October, November, January, February, March & April Meetings – Social time begins at 9:30 am; the business meeting begins promptly at 10:00 am. The program follows the business meeting.

For more information on events, please visit our Mount Lookout Chapter, NSDAR Facebook page.

  • Saturday, September 8, 2018, 1:30pm-3:30pm – Regular Meeting
  • Saturday, August 4, 2018, Time TBD – Chapter Board Meeting
  • Tuesday, July 3, 2018 – Honor Golden Police and Fire
  • Saturday, June 30, 2018, 1:30pm-3:30pm – New Members Orientation Class
  • Thursday, June 14, 2018, 11am – Flag Raising Ceremony
  • Saturday, June 9, 2018, 1:30pm-3:30pm – Prospective Member Workshop
  • Monday, May 28, 2018, 10:30am – Memorial Day Wreath Laying
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018, 12pm – Spring Luncheon
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018, 1:30pm – Regular Meeting: World War One
  • Saturday, March 31, 2018, 1:30pm-4:30pm – Prospective Member Workshop
  • Saturday, March 10, 2018, 1:30pm – Regular Meeting: Native Americans
  • Saturday, February 10, 2018, 1:30pm – Regular Meeting: DAR Good Citizen Award, American History Essay Awards, Women in American History Award
  • Saturday, January 20, 2018, 1:30pm-4:30pm – Prospective Member Workshop
  • Saturday, January 13, 2018, 1:30pm – Regular Meeting: Expedition to Antarctica
  • Saturday, December 9, 2017, 1:30pm – Regular Meeting: My Family on the Mayflower
  • Saturday, November 18, 2017, 1:30pm-4:30pm – Prospective Member Workshop
  • Saturday, November 11, 2017, 1:30pm – Regular Meeting: One Woman’s Journey into the Co-Ed Air Force Academy
  • Sunday, October 22, 2017, 1:30pm/2:30pm – WWI Women Display Tour/Three Course Tea
  • Saturday, October 14, 2017, 3pm-4:30pm – Shower for Pregnant Veterans
  • Saturday, October 14, 2017, 1:30pm – Regular Meeting: DAR New Member Programs
  • Saturday, September 23, 2017, 1:30pm-4:30pm – Prospective Member Workshop
  • Sunday, September 17, 2017, 1:30pm – Constitution Week – Bells Across America
  • Saturday, September 9, 2017, 1:30pm – Regular Meeting: My Father, a Phantom Of Hitler’s SS

Some past topics of programs that follow our business meetings include:

  • State DAR Officers speaking on various subjects
  • Character dramatizations
  • Development of the American Flag by the Sojourners in colonial dress
  • Slide presentations on period rooms, local historic homes, museums
  • Speakers on presidential campaigns and political memorabilia
  • From the American Revolution to wartime in later eras
  • Native American dancers

Some of the activities our members participate in are:

  • Outstanding Colorado School of Mines senior presented ROTC Gold Medal
  • Constitution Week observed with proclamation and displays
  • Sponsoring American History Essays for fifth through twelfth graders
  • Volunteering for an emergency food bank
  • Community Service Award
  • Recognition of outstanding work in conservation
  • Trees planted in celebration of Arbor Day
  • Sending boxes containing necessary items to our active and injured troops
  • Commemorative wreath laying on Memorial Day
  • Clipping and mailing coupons to active military families overseas

New Members Installed May 6, 2017